«MEMOIR ’44 – A BEGINNER’S REFERENCE INTRO This guide is targeted to Memoir ’44 beginners and is meant to help them better interpret some of ...»
MEMOIR ’44 – A BEGINNER’S REFERENCE
This guide is targeted to Memoir ’44 beginners and is meant to help them better interpret some of the rules of the
game. It is NOT meant to replace any of the following MUST READ documents:
- the rulebook:
- the official FAQs:
- the unofficial FAQ available at BGG:
(http://www.boardgamegeek.com/file/download/35704/M44_Unofficial_FAQ_v12.pdf) The unofficial FAQ is 90% similar to the official one, but better structured and easier to search for information.
This document will not help more experienced players and also does not discuss (at least for now) any of the expansions, since the main target is the new player, having only the base game and needing a jumpstart or some reference.
DOCUMENT REVISIONSVersion 0.1 released for comments. It contains only 11 TACTIC CARDS explained.
Version 0.2 released for comments.
It contains all 15 Tactic cards from the base game and a scenario setup.
Version 0.3 released for comments.
It contains all 15 Tactic cards as well as a 5 turn game explained step by step.
Days of Wonder, the Days of Wonder logo, Memoir ’44, the Memoir ’44 logotype and all related product and brand names are registered trademarks or trademarks of Days of Wonder, Inc. and copyrights © 2002-2007 Days of Wonder, Inc.
1. ARMOR ASSAULT When played, this card allows the player to issue an order to 0-4 ARMOR units he has on the board, no matter the section. Ordering the units is the same as with a normal command card (first pick all the units to order, then move them all if needed or possible, then battle if needed or possible). The card adds a bonus to those 4 ARMOR units: if they will battle in Close Assault, they will roll 1 additional die (e.g. we have an armor unit 3 hexes away from an infantry unit; it can battle without moving with the normal 3 dice, or move 2 hexes near the targeted infantry unit and roll an additional die because now it is in Close Assault and it can benefit from the bonus).
Terrain movement and battle restrictions still apply (e.g. if attacking an infantry in a town from 2 or 3 hexes away, roll 3-2=1 die per the normal rules; if attacking an infantry in a town in Close Assault, roll 3-2+1=2 dice, using the bonus).
If the player has NO Armor units on the board, it can order 1 other unit of his choice (e.g. infantry or artillery).
The additional die will also be used if making an Armor Overrun in a Close Assault position.
This card practically duplicates any card that your opponent just played. If he played for example Pincer Move (“order 2 units on the Left and 2 units on the Right sections”) you can use Counter-Attack just like if you had in hand a Pincer Move command card. Counter-Attack when played always borrows the effects of the last card played by the enemy. The sections will be preserved (if your enemy plays “Attack” with 3 units on his left, when counter-attacking you will also play “Attack” with 3 units BUT in the same section, which is on your right). Apart from this section change, the effects are duplicated entirely.
A player can also play Counter-Attack to a Counter-Attack card (e.g.: player A plays “Probe” with 2 units on his left, you play Counter-Attack which will let you order 2 units on your right – the same section as your opponent – and now if he wants to order 2 units on the same section but does not have any “normal” command card for this, he can play a Counter-Attack which will borrow the effects of your Counter-Attack – which also borrowed the effects
from the original Probe card – and he will be able to order 2 units on that very disputed section :)
You cannot play this card during your opponent’s turn like the Ambush card.
This card is self explanatory: choose 0 to 4 units of ANY TYPE and order them per the normal rules (examples: you can order 2 infantry + 1 armor unit + 1 artillery OR 2 armor units OR any combination of maximum 4 units of any type)
The player can order ALL infantry units (no matter how many) but in only 1 section. These units benefit from the card’s bonus: they are able to move up to 2 hexes and still battle (in contrast with the normal action of moving only 1 hex and still battle) OR move 3 hexes but not battle (in contrast with the normal action of moving 2 hexes and not battle).
This rule simply adds a hex for the movement of normal units. For Elite units, the difference is smaller: they can ALREADY move 2 hexes and battle without this card, so the card will only improve their abilities if they want to move 3 hexes and of course not battle, which they normally would not be able to do.
Terrain movement and battle restrictions still apply (e.g. if entering a forest after a 1 hex move, a normal infantry unit must still stop and cannot battle – per the forest restrictions - even if this card would allow it to continue the move and/or attack).
Like many Tactic cards, this one also allows you to order 1 unit of any type you have available, in case you have NO infantry units on the board.
Choose 0-4 infantry units from anywhere on the board and issue them orders. There is no special bonus and the terrain movement and battle restrictions still apply. If there is no infantry unit available anywhere on the board, order 1 unit of any other type.
This card is a special one: it is the only one that can be played DURING the opponent’s turn. That’s right: if your opponent orders a unit (e.g. moves an infantry unit of his near one of your armor units), and then he declares Close Assault on one of your units, you can play this card in this very moment, before he gets to roll the dice.
Immediately after playing it, he loses the chance to attack and you get to roll dice first (according to your attacked unit rules, just like if you had attacked his unit first). There are 3 possibilities depending on the result of your
- You do not eliminate his unit nor make it retreat: in this case after your attack, he gets to attack you back. This happens even if you eliminate PART of his unit, but not all and also his unit maintained position.
- You roll some flags and the enemy has to retreat: in this case he loses the chance to attack you and the turn is over for his unit (he will continue with other ordered unit or end turn)
- You eliminate the enemy unit: of course the enemy has no unit now to attack you with and the Ambush was succesful! The opponent can continue his turn until completion with the rest of his ordered units.
After playing this card, you should replentish your stock of cards by drawing another card (before your opponent does, at the end of his turn). You can “ambush” only one attack per card played (e.g. if on the opponent’s turn he moves 3 units and it is clear that he will declare close assault on all 3 cases being near some of your units, you cannot play an ambush card for all your units, but only one, at your choice; the Ambush card will still be played immediately after the enemy declares a close attack on the unit you chose to protect but before he gets to roll the dice).
You cannot play Ambush and order another unit of yours: the ordered unit MUST be the one that the enemy intended to attack in close assault.
This card allows you to order ALL your artillery units (you are not forced to order them all if you don’t want/need to). These artillery units that are ordered with this card may EITHER move up to 3 hexes (normal movement restrictions apply) OR battle twice (e.g. you can attack twice the same target or carry out 2 attacks on different targets).
If you have NO artillery unit on board, issue an order to any unit you have available.
Many beginners misinterpret this card. It actually gives a player a “bonus attack”. The attacking unit is “outside” the board, there is no unit on the board that will actually attack, there is only the attacked enemy unit on the board.
Once this card is played, the player chooses ANY enemy unit (it can be a normal infantry unit or an elite one, an armor unit, an artillery unit and so on). He does not have to have line of sight or be in the attacking distance (remember, there is no attacking unit on board, how could we calculate line of sight or distance then ?). The player doesn’t even need to have an artillery unit, he can play this card even if he has only 1 soldier left and the targeted unit is on the other side of the board :).
Once an enemy unit is targeted, the player rolls 4 dice, IGNORING any terrain reduction (e.g. even if the targeted unit is an artillery unit in a bunker on a hill, the player still rolls 4 dice). The player scores 1 hit for each unit symbol or grenade (as in the normal rules) but unlike the normal rules, the flags cannot be ignored !! (the unit HAS TO retreat even if it would normally be protected from flags by bunkers, sandbags and so on). Of course, if for example we have an artillery unit in a bunker (as you know, this special combination does not allow the artillery to retreat) and the player rolls 2 flags, the flags will not be ignored and the unit will be lost (for every flag that must be executed on an artillery unit in a bunker, an artillery figure will be lost, since it is not allowed to retreat).
First of all the card is wrong (I understand it has been revised and reprinted). The correct description: “[…] Terrain movement and battle restrictions still apply […]” This card allows you to send a unit in the middle of the enemy’s territory (“behind enemy lines”), attack and then
come back. The player chooses 1 infantry unit (no matter the section) and this unit will be allowed to:
- Move up to 3 hexes (0-3 hexes) ignoring terrain movement restrictions (e.g. it can pass through 3 towns without stopping just as if there was no hex in its way)!
- Attack an enemy unit (using 1 additional die as a bonus but applying any present battle reductions )
- Move again up to 3 hexes (0-3 hexes) ignoring terrain movement restrictions.
- Any of the 3 actions above can be skipped (they are not mandatory; e.g. you can only attack without moving, or attack and then move, or just move 6 hexes (3+3 with no attack), etc.).
- The unit cannot pass unpassable terrain (rivers are still blocking movement for all troops).
- There is no requirement to move towards enemy territory; for example you can use this card to order an infantry unit with only 1 soldier figure to “return home” from enemy territory by ordering it to move 6 hexes towards your side (it can also attack somebody on its way back, after the first 3 hexes).
- A unit cannot move 2 hexes, attack, and then move 4 hexes for a total of 6. A 6 hex move can be obtained only with a 3+3 hex move (or, in special cases, if the attack carried out between moves is followed by a “Take Ground” action, one additional hex is gained).
P a g e | 1010. CLOSE ASSAULT
This card is best played when many of the player’s units (infantry or armor, not artillery) are adjacent to enemy units because this card lets you order ALL these units. There is no movement allowed before or after playing this card (Taking Ground and Armor Overrun are permitted). Ordered units get to roll 1 additional die (the rule applies only to initial attack of a unit, not also in the Armor Overrun phase).
There is no limit on how many troops you can order: as long as an infantry or armor unit is already adjacent with an enemy unit at the start of the turn and does not need to move to become adjacent, it can attack with that additional die. The units that are not adjacent to enemy units will be ignored this turn.
P a g e | 1111. DIG-IN
This card has many issues already clarified in the FAQ so I will not repeat them here. Basically the card allows a player to choose 4 infantry units from all over the board and improve their protection by placing sandbags on the units’ hexes. The units are not allowed to move and/or attack during this turn, they just work hard to protect themselves by building the sandbags.
If the player has no infantry unit available, he may issue a normal order to 1 other unit of his choice (move/battle).
When a player plays this card, he can choose 0-4 of his units (no matter the type) and order them. These units:
- Cannot be adjacent to ANY enemy unit
- May not move during this turn (they can only fire/battle if there are enemy units in range) Each of these 4 units will roll 1 additional die when attacking. Terrain and battle restrictions still apply (first the number of dice to be rolled is calculated, per the normal rules then 1 die is added to the result). Of course, if an enemy infantry is 4 hexes away from our infantry unit – out of range - we cannot attack it, thinking that “we normally have 0 dice to roll and we add 1 which means we will attack with 1 die”. The attacked enemy unit MUST be in range first of all.